WRWTFWW Records announces the official reissue of Daisaku Kume's original soundtrack for the highly acclaimed 1989 Japanese crime/drama movie Violent Cop. Available for the first time outside of Japan, the album comes in a limited edition of 500 copies worldwide with a 45rpm cut providing full audio pleasure and an iconic record sleeve featuring the movie director and star: the one and only "Beat" Takeshi Kitano! Violent Cop marks Kitano's directorial debut -- a gritty neo-noir in which he stars as a rogue detective fighting a sadistic crime syndicate, only to discover widespread internal corruption in the police force. Poetic, minimalistic, with a superb balance between small soothing moments of beauty and vertiginous sudden violence, the film spearheaded a superb international career for the multi-talented filmmaker, actor, and comedian, which includes works such as Sonatine, Hana-Bi, and Battle Royale. The release of the soundtrack on vinyl presents an excellent opportunity for fans to explore the musical underpinnings of one of Kitano's earliest creations. Daisaku Kume, known for his work as the keyboardist for late '70s fusion bands T-Square and Prism, showcases versatile musical prowess on the soundtrack, taking listeners on a sonic journey through a blend of genres including magnificent Erik Satie re-interpretations, melancholic smooth jazz sometimes reminiscent of Taxi Driver, ambient-classical, and modern Western atmospherics. It's the perfect setting for Kitano's stoic but tormented lonesome urban cowboy character. Raw power mixed with timeless elegance. Violent Cop (Original Soundtrack) by Daisaku Kume follows the recent release of the soundtrack from another groundbreaking Japanese movie, Shin'ya Tsukamoto's Tokyo Fist (1995), with music by industrial visionaries Chu Ishikawa and Der Eisenrost, also currently available on WRWTFWW Records.

A1. Azuma's Theme (Gnossienne No. 1 - Erik Satie)
A2. Sono Otoko Kyobo Ni Tsuki (Violent Cop) (End Title)
A3. Kiyohiro's Theme
A4. Kiyohiro's Theme II
B1. Sono Otoko Kyobo Ni Tsuki (Violent Cop) (Main Title)
B2. Fear (Gnossienne No. 1 - Erik Satie)
B3. Intorno all'idol mio (Antonio Cesti)
B4. Sono Otoko Kyobo Ni Tsuki (Violent Cop) (Main Title - Saxophone Version)

Current Stock:
Catalog Number:


No Reviews Write a Review