PRE-ORDER Expected release date is 11th Mar 2022

First time vinyl issue of this 1997 Mego classic. General Magic, the duo of Ramon Bauer and Andi Pieper, who, alongside Pita, first pioneered the classic Mego sound on the Fridge Trax 12" in 1995 (EMEGO 001LP). The following year proved to be formulative when Mego released Frantz alongside a slew of game changing releases from Farmers Manuel, Pita, and Fennesz. Originally released as MEGO 010 Frantz presented a thrilling digression from what was in vogue in music at the time. This was the advent of portable computing and the Vienna based label was at the forefront of harnessing the potential of audio within this new technology. At once smart and playful these releases reconfigured once disparate genres such as industrial, techno, glitch, and the avant-garde, folding them into a bright, audacious and euphoric new system of sound. The music on Frantz (named after the Austrian skier, Franz Klammer) still pushes the boundaries of acceptable audio constructions with its startling fried electricity and twisted sensibility. The sense of joy in the audio discovery is palatable as techno laced explorations unfold a variety of unexpected and unprecedented sonic maneuvers. Tyrell launches proceedings as schizophrenic stuttering handclaps simultaneously slice into pieces as it propels forward. The bending of the brain is on display with the likes of "Obvious" and "Close, But Not Quien". Temko skewers digital debris in which a ghost melody comes to the fore. Brazen rhythms mobilize the tracks "No Ketting" and "Bonden" whilst "The Official GM Ski-WM Theme" is a short stab of priceless pop wizardry skittering about a strange exhilarating melody in homage to the finest of winter activities. This reissue also includes "Die Mondlandung" which was released as a 12" in 1995, and has never been released anywhere, physical or digital, since. This track is based on the live German TV coverage of the moon landing. An apt theme for the abundance of exploration contained within this classic release. Double-LP; includes download code; edition of 500.

1.01. Tyrell (2021 Remaster) (3:42)
1.02. Take The Bus (2021 Remaster) (5:14)
1.03. Rollen Rink (2021 Remaster) (6:09)
1.04. Close, But Not Quien (2021 Remaster) (6:01)
1.05. The Official GM Ski-WM Theme (2021 Remaster) (1:07)
1.06. Temko (2021 Remaster) (5:20)
1.07. Boom (2021 Remaster) (6:33)
1.08. Madshoes (2021 Remaster) (5:38)
1.09. Obvious (2021 Remaster) (3:36)
2.01. No Ketting (2021 Remaster) (5:30)
2.02. Blob Return (2021 Remaster) (2:12)
2.03. Bonden (2021 Remaster) (4:54)
2.04. Mimi (2021 Remaster) (1:41)
2.05. 11:25 (2021 Remaster) (4:40)
2.06. Die Mondlandung (2021 Remaster) (11:00)

Current Stock:
Catalog Number:


No Reviews Write a Review